Action Field Kodra

Kodra Fresh: Floating Walls

Curated by Vasilis Zografos (assistant to the curator: Bachlitzanaki Irini). This established exhibition of graduates and seniors from Schools of Fine Arts in Greece and abroad, this year introduces new artists and invites them to converse with established artists. The title of the exhibition is “Floating Walls”, commenting on and developing the Festival’s theme, and it is hosted at Kodra’s Headquarters' building.

The curator highlights that: “The peculiarity of the artist’s nature is undoubtedly what sets him apart from his/her social circle. Apart from this acknowledged truth, some questions arise: In times of social turmoil what could the artist’s fortification mean? How meaningful is it for the artist to seek refuge when there is no clear proposal of moral resistance? How can the artist live and work inside or outside the “walls”, when social structures fall apart and everything new is totally undefined and undesignated? Is the citizen’s idiosyncrasy as vulnerable as the artist’s in a capitalist situation that caused despair and insecurity? Could this be the moment when the “walls” become floating so that in the midst of volatility rapprochement and propinquity become possible?”

Participating artists: Giannis Amanatidis, Alma Bakiaj, Elliott Burns, Panagiotis Vorrias, Giorgos Gyzis, Panos Kompis, Panos Matthaiou, Orestis Mauroudis, Anastasia Mina, Mirto Xanthopoulou, Stella Ouzounidou, Emmanuele Panzarini, Vasilis Papageorgiou, Nana Seferli, Nikos Stathopoulos, Konstantinos Tzimoulis.

Dialogues that have arisen from the collaboration: Giannis Grigoriadis- Giannis Amanatidis, Evaggelia Basdeki - Alma Bakiaj, Elliott Burns - Emmanuele Panzarini, Panagiotis Vorrias - Panos Kompis ( PER SE group), Giorgos Gyzis - Ilias Papailiakis, Vassilea Stylianidou - Panos Matthaiou, Aggela Svoronou - Orestis Mavroudis, Maria Oikonomopoulou - Anastasia Mina, Ntora Oikonomou - Mirto Χanthopoulou, Eleni Kamma - Stella Ouzounidou, Nikos Papadimitriou - Vasilis Papageorgiou, Dimitris Georgakopoulos - Nikos Stathopoulos, Maria Konti - Nana Seferli, Dimitris Dokatzis - Konstantinos Tzimoulis.